Forum Donations
Search
VTF Google Search
 Click Here

New owner with an issue XV535 from 93 (SOLVED)

General Virago Help Topics
  • Advertisement

Post a reply

New owner with an issue XV535 from 93 (SOLVED)

PostAuthor: tiagodisouza » Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:05 pm

The bike is a Yamaha Virago XV535 from 93 and has 30k kilometers on it

I'll be honest I'm really new to motorcycles and motor vehicles in general hence why I came here.

My current problem is the following:

I turn the key and I hear the pump which i assume is normal but when I press the start button the engine cranks a bit and nothing happens.
It will not start and I have no idea why.
Just 2 days ago i turned it on in my front yard to get the juices in the engine running since it had been stopped for quite a while and it was fine and ran for like 10 minutes until i turned it back off(at this time i did not hear the pump).

I received it as a gift and i really like the bike but I'd really like to know how to handle these issues.

The bike is a Yamaha Virago XV535 from 93
tiagodisouza
Junior Membership
Junior Membership

Flag
Bike year & model: 93 Yamaha Virago XV535
Sex: Male

Re: New owner with an issue XV535 from 93

PostAuthor: mark75 » Fri Mar 01, 2019 8:03 pm

Howdy, and Welcome to VTF.

I would 1st thing, put it on a battery charger and make sure the battery is fully charged.

XVs tend to like a fat-and-happy battery with clean/tight electrical connections to preform its best.

like the 1000/1100 - yes, it is normal for the fuel pump to run each time the key is turned on [~5 seconds]

if it doesn't start with a 'full' battery, and fresh, clean gas, pull the plugs, re-insert into cable, and make sure the big metal part of the plug is grounded/touching the cylinder as you push the start button again.
caution: fuel being 'blown' out the hole is usually flammable! so no sparking close to it.

there should be a spark at the tip [hopefully fat & blue] as engine turns. [repeat with other]